Access keys used on this site are:

HEE TV Annual Educator and Trainer Awards 2014

Celebrating success in education and training

The contribution and success of those delivering education and training in healthcare was celebrated at the Health Education England, Thames Valley Annual Educator & Trainer Awards Ceremony on the evening of Wednesday 19 November at the Oxford Four Pillars Hotel, Sandford.

Now in their fourth year, the awards continue to recognise the work, achievements and efforts made by educators and trainees throughout the Thames Valley, highlighting the exceptional contribution made by both individuals and teams. This year, nominations were accepted from across all health professions, celebrating the successes of individuals and teams across the multi-professional workforce. Additional awards were also included for clinical teaching and administrator contribution to supporting high quality education and training.

A shortlisting panel, drawn from the HEE TV executive team and a Lay Representative, judged nominations to the nine award categories against a number of criteria including leadership, excellent communication and dissemination of good practice, development of new innovative training and successful initiatives. An overall winner was selected for each category with highly commended awards given to many further nominations.

HEE TV’s Professor John Caldwell, Independent Chair, and Dr Michael Bannon, Postgraduate Dean presented the awards at the evening ceremony, awarding trophies and certificates. See the table below for full information on awards given.

Particular mention is made to the final award of the evening, that for significant and sustained contribution to health, professional education and development, which was awarded to Mr Tony Jefferis, the Deputy Postgraduate Dean at Health Education Thames Valley, and who retires at the end of the year after a career as an educator spanning over twenty years.

As a specialist Ear, Nose and Throat Surgeon, Tony’s contribution to education and training began as early as 1992 when he personally led fund-raising efforts to develop the Postgraduate Centre at Wexham Park Hospital; a resource for junior doctors to help support them in their training.

From 1994, Tony held the role of Training Programme Director, coordinating the specialty training programme for Ear, Nose and Throat Surgery. From 1996, he joined the Oxford Deanery as an Associate Dean, leading on elements of continuous professional development.

Tony led the well-renowned ‘Nuts and Bolts’ series of management training courses for senior medical trainees in the Thames Valley, and organised the annual Colloquium in Medical Education.

Having then led as Head of School of Surgery from 2005, Tony was then appointed as the Deputy Postgraduate Dean in 2007, a position he holds until the end of December 2014.

While Tony is retiring, he will continue to support the deanery and will assist in some areas of work

Speaking after the awards, Professor John Caldwell, said:

Image of Michael and John Caldwell holding a speech 

Dr Michael Bannon, HEE TV Postgraduate Dean (left)
and Prof. John Caldwell, HEE TV Chair
“The HEE TV Board has always stressed that we should do all we can to make being an educator a badge of honour; something to be proud of and which recognises the important link between excellent education and training, and excellent patient care. These annual awards are HEE TV’s way of reinforcing this.

“As ever, the strength of the nominations speaks volumes for the calibre of education and training provision in the Thames Valley. Every entrant was an example of commitment, innovation and fantastic contribution to developing the very best healthcare workforce. “It was also important that this year the awards were widened to include all healthcare professions as we build on the need to develop inter-disciplinary teams and care models.

“Shortlisting was not easy as there is so much to be proud of. I would like to issue my thanks and praise to every entrant, particularly the winners, for all they have done to develop high standards in education and training, for great patient care.”



The winners and those highly commended are listed in the table below:

Catagory Award Name
Best newcomer to education Winner

Dr Amit Kalla

College Tutor, Milton Keynes NHS FT

Education or training project by a health-professional Winner

Dr Emma Crewe 

Core Medical Trainee, Royal Berkshire Hospital NHS FT

Education or training project by a health-professional



Dr Eugene Ong

CT2 trainee, Renal Department, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Contribution to the learning environment Winner

Mr Owen Gustafson

Team Lead Physiotherapist, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust

Dental or medical postgraduate staff as a clinical teacher Winner

Dr Soroosh Firoozan

Consultant Cardiologist, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Allied health professional / nursing / midwifery as a clinical teacher Winner

Ms Andrea Szego

Speech & Language Therapist, Adult Speech & Language Therapy, Royal Berkshire Hospital

Allied health professional / nursing / midwifery as a clinical teacher



Mr Mark Unstead

Chief Respiratory Physiologist, Royal Berkshire Hospital

Allied health professional / nursing / midwifery as a clinical teacher



Mrs Nicola Moone

Programme and Practice Lead for Psychosocial Interventions, Berkshire Health NHS FT

Administrator contribution to healthcare education or training Winner

Ms Maura Stock

Medical Education Manager, Heatherwood & Wexham Park NHS Foundation Trust (now Frimley Health NHS FT)

Administrator contribution to healthcare education or training Winner Miss Tessa Candy

Quality Assurance Manager, Health Education England Thames Valley

Administrator contribution to healthcare education or training



Mrs Ann Heath

Foundation School Manager and GMC Visit Project Team, Health Education England Thames Valley

Medical or Dental Training Programme Director Winner

Mr Bruce James

Training Programme Director and Head of School, Ophthalmology, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Medical or Dental Training Programme Director



Dr Farooq Ahmad

Training Programme Director for Core Psychiatry, Prospect Park Hospital, Berkshire Healthcare NHS FT

Team awards Winner

Transfer Training Team

Intensive Care Unit, Royal Berkshire Hospital

Team awards



ST4s Anaesthesia

Anaesthetics Department, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Team awards



Practice Development Team

Learning and Development Team

Universities of Northampton and Bedfordshire Practice Education Team

Clinical Placement Co-ordination Team

Milton Keynes Hospital NHS FT

Significant and sustained contribution to health, professional education and development Winner

Mr Tony Jefferis

Consultant Surgeon and Deputy Postgraduate Dean, HEE TV


Any queries about the awards can be directed to Jane Siddall, Associate Dean for Educator Faculty Development on or Ruth Crawley, Manager: Medical Educators on

Page updated 26/11/14

A note to our visitors
AcceptWe have updated our Privacy Policy in compliance with EU cookie legislation. Take a look at our Privacy Policy to learn how we use cookies to collect anonymous site usage information. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our Privacy policy.
You'll keep being notified until you click the “Accept” button